SWOLTASTIC RADIO: EPISODE 006 (SCOTT VERNET GUESTMIX)

Swoltastic-Radio-006-ScottVernet

Brolic Beats kicks off 2014 with a brand new episode of Swoltastic Radio! Epsiode 006 features a stellar guest mix by jersey native Scott Vernet who shows us there’s more to the electronic scene than just big-room festival bangers. Tune into the mix below and click past the break for the full tracklist and a few words from the man himself. Here’s to a brolic New Year!

DOWNLOAD

Tracklist (Brolic Beats):
00. Intro (Siri x Rocky Balboa x Jack Trammell)
01. Glowinthedark feat. Chuckie – NRG (Original Mix)
02. Sharkoffs – Beast Mode (Original Mix)
03. Firebeatz – Max Ammo (Original Mix)
04. Mightyfools – Go (Original Mix)
05. twoloud – Traffic (Tiesto Edit)
06. Cazzette – Run For Cover (Original Mix)
07. Zombie Nation – Kernkraft 400 (Riggi & Piros Remix)

Scott Vernet Guestmix:
Intro: Interview
This is an interview one of my friends did about me last spring when I DJed a Dayglow party for St. Joes’ University in Philadelphia. I was going to just use the original audio, but I wanted to add a creative touch to it. I had him say the exact same stuff he said in the interview through a phone, and I sampled it with a recorder and that’s what gives it that awesome muffled, kind of distorted sound.

1. Lies – CHVRCHES (Tourist Remix)
I absolutely love CHVRCHES. Their synth-pop vibe is so awesome. And any work by Tourist is incredible, so to see these two names together was really exciting. This remix is so good. Annie Mac has played it out a few times on her show. I’m so bummed that I missed him when he was in NYC. Oh well, there’s always this year.

2. All About the Panties (That Mara Hruby Flow) – J. Louis
The vocal on this is stuck in my head 24/7. Such a sexy song.. i love how slow-paced the beginning is and then it just explodes with the dope percussion. I’ve been opening a lot of my sets with this song and it’s had ridiculous reactions to it. Everyone goes crazy dancing to it; it’s awesome.

3. How Long Will I Love You – Ellie Goulding (EMBRZ Remix)
Ellie Goulding is literally an angel sent from the musical heavens. Her voice gives me chills. When I hear people are remixing her tracks i am really picky with what i like, because her original work is perfect on it’s own. When I heard this bootleg, I was just like, “damn, this is f*cking tight”. I’ve really been into this sort of vibe lately. EMBRZ killed this, two thumbs up.

4. Body Party – Ciara (Jacques Greene Remix)
Jacques Greene was hands-down my favorite producer in 2013. His productions are on another level.. and his DJ sets are sick! He also plays live sets with all analog equipment.. it’s insane. This dude is incredibly talented. This remix is my second favorite of his from this past year, I play the other one later on in the mix.

5. Too Much – Drake (Jessie Andrews & Jason Burns Remix)
If you know me personally, you know that i LOVE Drake. When I play open format rooms, I probably play 5 or 6 songs that have Drake in it always haha. All my friends always crack jokes about it. This rework is incredible. I love using it to warm up the room when I play an earlier time slot in a club. This song really sets the mood.. but, what Drake song doesn’t?

6. Play by Play – Autre ne Veut (Jacques Greene Remix)
This is the Jacques Greene song I was talking about earlier. It’s absolutely incredible.. my favorite remix of all 2013. I haven’t played this song out yet because I know when I do I am going to bop around like a moron in the DJ booth to it haha, I can’t help it when this song comes on.

7. Ribs – Lorde (Ryan Hemsworth’s “Lets Have A Sleepover Version)
Lorde was probably the biggest artist to break through in 2013 and her entire album is flawless. Ryan Hemsworth is another one of my favorite producers and is known for taking his productions to the next-level and blowing peoples’ minds; this edit was no exception to that. He just released an edit pack actually, and there isn’t one edit in it that is less than incredible. If you like this, i’d recommend going to download the rest of that pack off of his Facebook page.

8. High You Are – What So Not (Branchez Remix)
I was at brunch one day about a month ago with a few friends and one of them was telling me about this artist called Branchez that is really making some cool music. I went home that evening and downloaded every track I found of his, haha. This one is an incredible remix he did.

9. Do You.. – Miguel (Cashmere Cat Remix)
This is my second favorite remix of 2013 next to “Play by Play”. I love Miguel, and Cashmere Cat is one of my favorite producers. When I saw that he did a Miguel remix, I didn’t even listen to it first; I just downloaded it right to my iTunes and was blown away.

10. New Slaves – Kanye West featuring Frank Ocean
How could I leave out Yeezus? Haha. His album was so ridiculously good it’s crazy. The first time I listened to it, I was just like “eh this is pretty good.. but I don’t know”. I listened to it fully through like 2-3 times and then really appreciated how great it was. The list of producers that he brought on for the album was mind-blowing too.. Daft Punk, Gesaffelstein, Lupe Fiasco, Hudson Mohawke, No ID, Rick Rubin, Travis Scott.. the list goes on. When I heard this song for the first time, I was like “I HAVE to do something with the end of this with a mix” and I’m glad this finally gave me that opportunity.

Outro – End of Phone Call Interview (Dial-tone)

Leave a Reply

