INTERVIEWS || KRYDER [BROLIC BEATS EXCLUSIVE]

kryder

Brolic Beats recently had the pleasure to catch up with exploding British DJ/Producer Kryder. Kryder’s sound is quite distant from most; it is characterized as “Stadium-sized House” due to a cultivation of house, trance, and electro elements.

In the interview, we learn of the early stages of Kryder’s career, as well as those he saw as major influences. Kryder talks about his massive remix on Swedish House Mafia’s “Don’t You Worry Child” and how it came to life. Kryder also talks about his relationship with Tom Staar and the success that’s come from it. The end of interview concludes with a few hints at what we can expect in the near furture in terms of productions and gigs. Click past the break to read the full interview!

Brolic Beats: Previously living your life a promoter in Manchester, what motivated you to change career paths and take a stab at the production scene?

Kryder: Promoting came second, I actually started producing in school when I was 15 and became a regular at a local studio making tea and bothering the engineers. Then I went to college in London to study Sound Engineering in Paddington. So, I only began promoting when I was 19 and that was only because no one would book me to DJ, hence I started promoting my own nights and booking myself!

BB: Who did you see as major influences to honing your skills as a producer?

K: I’ve always loved Axwell, he has constantly delivered a solid house sound which is always fresh. Alex Kenji never fails for the more techy stuff, and more recently, Jay Luman, is really pumping out some rolling bass business!

BB: What was the best piece of advice you’ve received and who was it from?

K: My Dad said to me dream big, work hard, stay focused and surround yourself with good people! I live by that everyday.

BB: Not many can say that their first record signed was on Tiesto’s illustrious Musical Freedom label. What was your reaction when Tiesto signed your “K2”?

K: That was amazing news! To me it was like winning the DJ lottery! It really gave the confidence to pursue the music industry as a career instead of a just a hobby!

BB: How did your remix of Swedish House Mafia’s “Don’t You Worry Child” come to life? Did their management contact you or did you pass it along to them? And how did it feel having the remix played all throughout the world in their “One Last Tour”?

K: Yes I was approached to do the mix. I was so excited to get the opportunity to remix The Swedes last official track before they parted ways! It was an absolute honour! I really wanted to do something different and stand out… and it worked! It was insane to see them support the remix live at all of there tour dates. I was constantly getting sent YouTube videos, which I took great pleasure in watching!

BB: Could you talk about your relationship with Tom Staar and the success that’s come with it? Can we expect your “H8RS” remix to release anytime soon?

K: Tom Staar is a great friend of mine. I’ve known him for years and have a huge amount of respect for his producing skills! We click in the studio and he is a lot of fun to work with. The “H8RS” remix will be released this summer on Size Records, it’s been really crazy to see Steve Angello supporting it live in all his recent DJ sets!

BB: What can we expect from you for the rest of 2013 in terms of productions and shows?

K: Production wise I’m really excited about a few of my solo tracks I’ve been working on. There’s also some really cool collabs with Cazzette and my bro, Tom Staar, and of course a selection of remixes! Show-wise I can’t wait for America and Ibiza this summer!

Connect with Kryder:
Facebook
Twitter
SoundCloud

Leave a Reply

